MY BETT_2012 EXPERIENCE

The BETT ( British educational training & technology) show is considered to be the world’s leading event in educational technology. During 4 days all sort of education professionals get together in search of the latest innovations, products & best practices  in learning and teaching using technology.

London has been hosting this show over the last 20 years. This year about 30.000 visitors congregated at Olympia ( next year BETT is moving to the Docklands). Luckily, I could make it last week.

As it was my first BETT I planned my visit thoroughly, making sure I could get the most out of this great opportunity to enhance knowledge and get up-to-date on the latest educational technology.

Bearing in mind that it was going to be far complicated for me to see every single exhibitor or talks in just 1 day and a half, I  inmersed myself  at once on the latest  applications from google, microsoft and  apple such as book creator to practical guidance on how to use new interactive tools  ( see video ) from Epson or Smart whiteboards among others. I simply couldn’t miss the boat. The pedagogical uses of these apps and resources in schools were countless.

Another good example of pedagogy was the launch of the first Pie Corbett  app “story ideas” at BETT. Corbett is an English educational writer and a poet who promotes creative approaches. It was a  delight to hear him and I was glad to see that  good ideas can be shared in different ways.

Just when my feet desperately needed  a break, the show finally came to an end  on Saturday afternoon. I felt numb. I just wanted some more. I was  dazzled by the inspirational idea of the event.  I would never forget those exciting programmes of interactive, informal workshops and seminars, independent organised events running simultaneously, conferences offering discussion opportunities and interactions with experts in education, and above all, real networking.

I would never forget my first BETT experience.

I’m already registering for BETT 2013!

Related links:

BETT http://bettshow.com/bett/website/Default.aspx?refer=3&id=mainLnk3

Leave a Reply

