TRAINING TEACHERS ON BILINGUAL EDUCATION- MILAN 2012

Last week I had the great pleasure to run a 2-day training course in Milan ( Italy) on Bilingual education projects. The aim for me as a trainer was pretty clear since I started to prepare my presentations and work to be done during the training course; I just needed to offer good ideas and teaching tips from practical approaches so the emphasis was not put on Educational theories that everybody could easily extract from the internet, anyway. I had it very clear that if I wanted to connect with almost 40 Italian primary teachers I had to  sound real and above all show passion with all the work presented. My role was one among others, to be useful to other teachers and not just to satisfy my ego as a trainer.

Having considered these aspects thoroughly, I spent two days giving teachers alternatives on how to work through an integrated curriculum in English as part of a bilingual education project in their schools. As most of them were coming from Milan and nearby places it turned out to be a relatively easy task  to put things in common in order to raise standards for their projects.

I have to say that teachers were really enthusiastic and motivated towards this project run by the British council and the ministry of Education in Italy. This is actually the fourth year on the project for all the schools. My biggest challenge then was to be able to meet teachers’ expectations by providing them with real examples and ideas they could adapt successfully to their own working contexts.

After these two very intense days, teachers came up to me and said ” Thank You Alberto, thank you very much for all your passion and enthusiasm. You’ve been a great inspiration for us all”.

And this is what it’s all about I guess.

<div style=”margin-bottom:5px”> <strong> <a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/elealber/training-course-italy-sept2012&#8243; title=”Training course italy sept_2012″ target=”_blank”>Training course italy sept_2012</a> </strong> from <strong><a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/elealber&#8221; target=”_blank”>Alberto Garrido</a></strong> </div>

Related links:

British Council Bilngual Education Project in Italy: http://www.britishcouncil.org/italy-bilingual-education.htm

Leave a Reply

